Home » Uncategorized » What is good customer service?

What is good customer service?

Start here

My girlfriend and I are foodies. We love trying restaurant in and around NYC. When we find one we love we come back.

This begs the fundamental question what makes one business fail while another one thrives? Customer service.

When I walk in to Ottomanelli’s Burgers and Belgian frite’s, the place is spotless, I’m helped by a positive, employee who takes my order with a smile. The meat comes from the butcher shop owned by the Ottomanelli family that’s been serving Woodside, Queens and the 5 Burroughs since 1960. Whenever possible, local meat is carried.

The price is unbeatable. For around $6 I can get a burger with as amny of the 5-10 additional toppings I want at no extra charge. The fries are made in-house, and you can get an extra kick with garlic or chipotle among others, cooked into your burger. However, the meat is so flavorful that 2 of the 4 times I’ve been there, I’ve had the burger with no toppings. Then there’s the price.

My girlfriend and I had two burgers, 2 orders of fries and drinks for $21.46. In NYC, that’s unheard of.

The icing on the cake is the owner, Frank. He loves what he does. Regardless of the size of the crowd, or time of day, he comes out and asks how the meal was. What he demonstrates is a constant desire to welcome people in a clean, welcoming environment, where for a reasonable price, you can get outstanding food. Frank’s business model is simple it’s an example of what good customer service is all about, and how to maintain and grow your client base.

 

 

Leave a Reply

